Curse at Zala Manor

"Monsters on the loose...end of a bloodline..."
It's almost Halloween, and twelve-year-old AJ Zantony's world is threatened by an ancient curse that releases wicked pirates who had been trapped for centuries in his Aunt Zsofia's creepy mansion, Zala Manor.
The pirates--a vampire count, a pegleg skeleton, and a zombie--have three goals: to find a lost treasure, unleash the restless dead from their graves, and to settle a very old score by destroying the Zantony bloodline.
AJ has to stop them before midnight during Aunt Zsofia's annual Halloween party. Except he has a big problem--monster phobia! He's scared to death of monsters. But if he doesn't act fast, the streets of Craggy Cove will be crawling with zombies.
Will AJ overcome his fear and stop the monsters or bail out? Will Craggy Cove become Zombie Central? Who will be alive when midnight tolls?
Reviews
"This book has it all..." "Pure fun"
-Monster Librarian Read full review
In the vein of “The Goonies” and There's a Batwing in My Lunchbox by Ann Hodgeman comes Monster Moon: Curse at Zala Manor, the tale of AJ and Emily, two friends who get caught up in a centuries old pirate curse cast on AJ's family line. This book has it all: secret tunnels and talking animals, mad science and real monsters. This is the perfect Halloween themed book for in class reading in elementary schools and early middle schools. Equal parts scary, mysterious, gross and silly, it's pure fun. It's definitely recommended for all collections aimed at fostering a love of reading.
- Michele Lee, Monster Librarian
"Lots of exciting and suspenseful situations..." "Quite enjoyable book!"
-Pam Belina Read full review
This is an entertaining children's mystery adventure, with lots of exciting and suspenseful situations that the two main characters find themselves in. Not only is it scary, but it's educational as well, because scattered all throughout the story are learning facts, with some science thrown into the mix. I also thought that the main male character, AJ, was a very good role model. Quite enjoyable book! I'm looking forward to the next Monster Moon book to buy for my grandson.
- Pam Belina, Amazon Review
"What more could a kid ask for in a book?" "fun, well-written"
-Matthew Thomas Read full review
It's rare that an adult can get "in the head" of their young readers, but BBH McChiller does a great job of grabbing the reader's imagination and not letting go. Pirates, vampires, zombies, ghosts and ancient curses ... what more could a kid ask for in a book? The Curse at Zala Manor is fun, well-written and definitely a book that every kid will enjoy reading ... preferably in a dark room, under the covers, with a flashlight. Try to get it before Halloween. I can't wait for the next book in the series to come out!
- Matthew Thomas, Amazon Review